SUP Cross

In this single elimination, head to head Stand Up Paddle Board race down the James, heats of 4-5 competitors will battle it out to advance to the next round.

Top two survivors move on until only four are left to compete in the championship heat. Spectators can enjoy the carnage – err competition – from the bridge to nowhere. The downriver race starts at the Brown’s Island rapid above the old VEPCO dam and drops through several significant holes in the VEPCO Levy rapids.

Cost & Registration

Through March 31:  $20
April 1 – April 30:  $22
May 1 – May 15:  $25
May 16 – May 19:  $30
On Site:  $30

Includes: a cool event t-shirt, post-race beer or soda, and a free concert.

Entries are non-refundable, non-transferable, and non-deferrable.

Packet Pick Up & Walk Up Registration

Click here for details

Competition Schedule

  • 3:30 p.m. – Pre-event Athlete Briefing
  • 4:00 p.m. – Quarterfinals begin
  • 4:40 p.m. – Semifinals begin
  • 5:15 p.m. – Finals begin


  • You must be at least 12 years old to participate.
  • Navigate your way through the rapids and around two strategically placed buoys, scrambling to be the first to pass the final buoy.
  • All competitors must wear life vests and helmets.  When things get rowdy, you’ll be glad you did!
  • No kneeling and paddling allowed.
  • Participant must be standing on board when crossing the finishline.
  • Finish judged by body, NOT board, passing the final buoy.
  • Ladies, grab your friends.  We need at least six of you to create a women’s only division.
  • Consumption of alcohol before the event is PROHIBITED


Prize money will be awarded to the top three Male and Female finishers.*

1st $250
2nd $150
3rd $100

*Minimum of 10 competitors in each class in order to qualify for the cash.

Past Results

2018 SUP Cross

1. Andrew Hinton
2. Jack Nelson
3. Jason Beakes

2017 SUP Cross

1. Comer Bromwyn
2. Elli Morris
3. Marina Eichenberger

1. Spencer Lacy
2. Chris Gragtmans
3. Jack Nelson

2016 SUP Cross

1. Laura Palin
2. Brianna Molchan
3. Elli Morris

1. Spencer Lacy
2. Jack Nelson
3. Trey Knight

2015 SUP Cross

1. Haley Mills
2. Melanie Seiler
3. Laura Palin

1. Spencer Lacy
2. Mike Tavares
3. Luke Hopkins

2014 SUP Cross

1. Haley Mills
2. April Zilg

1. Luke Hopkins
2. Mike Tavares
3. Ben Moore

2013 SUP Cross

1. Adriene Levknecht
2. Courtney Kerin
3. Haley Mills

1. Luke Hopkins
2. Mike Tavares
3. Chris Gragtmans

2012 SUP Cross

1. Luke Hopkins
2. Michael Tavares
3. Benjamin Moore

1. Haley Mills
2. Courtney Kerin
3. April Zilig

2011 SUP Cross

1. Patrick Griffin
2. Ben Moore
3. Jody DesRoches