SUP Cross

In this paddling tournament, 4 paddlers race head to head on Stand Up Paddle Boards down the rapids with the top 2 advancing to the next round.

Top two survivors move on until only four are left to compete in the championship heat. SUP Cross starts at the boat ramp just above the canal intake and drops through several significant holes in the Fishladder rapid.  Paddlers will finish when their body passes the finish buoy or flag and they are standing on their board.

Cost & Registration

Pricing Schedule

January 24 – March 14: $20
March 15 – May 15:  
May 16– May 20:  $30

Includes a cool event t-shirt and drink ticket*.

*Drink ticket must be used during normal festival hours

Entries are non-refundable, non-transferable, and non-deferrable, even in the case of a race cancellation, postponement, event format changes, and/or if you are unable to participate.


SUP Cross offers a $15 special rate for those who qualify for an income based rate. Click here for eligibility information.


Packet Pick Up

Packet pick-up will take place from 1:30pm – 2:30pm on Saturday, May 20 right at the Tredegar Street boat ramp.

Competition Schedule

  • 2:30 p.m. – Pre-event Athlete Briefing
  • 3:00 p.m. -Semifinals begin
  • 3:45 p.m. – Finals begin


  • You must be at least 12 years old to participate.
  • Navigate your way through the rapids and around strategically placed buoys/gates, scrambling to be the first to pass the final buoy.
  • All competitors must wear life vests and helmets.  When things get rowdy, you’ll be glad you did!
  • No kneeling and paddling allowed.
  • Paddlers are encouraged to bump each others’ boards and paddles but intentionally using a paddle to hit another paddler’s body is strictly forbidden.
  • Participant must be standing on board when crossing the finishline.
  • Finish judged by body, NOT board, passing the final buoy.
  • Ladies, grab your friends.  We need at least three of you to create a women’s only division.
  • Consumption of alcohol before the event is PROHIBITED


Prizes will be awarded to the top finisher in each category/division.

Past Results

2023 SUP Cross

1. Ben Moore
2. Thomas Clarkson
3. Nate Erickson

2022 SUP Cross

1. Thomas Clarkson
2. Nate Erickson
3. John Woodward

2021 SUP Cross

1. John Woodward
2. Matthew Centofanti
3. Mark Tavares
DNF: Adam Burgess

2019 SUP Cross

DNF: Marina Eichenberger
DNF: Grace Woolwine

1. Dominique Williams
2. Jack Nelson
DNF: Mark Wheller

2018 SUP Cross

1. Andrew Hinton
2. Jack Nelson
3. Jason Beakes

2017 SUP Cross

1. Comer Bromwyn
2. Elli Morris
3. Marina Eichenberger

1. Spencer Lacy
2. Chris Gragtmans
3. Jack Nelson

2016 SUP Cross

1. Laura Palin
2. Brianna Molchan
3. Elli Morris

1. Spencer Lacy
2. Jack Nelson
3. Trey Knight

2015 SUP Cross

1. Haley Mills
2. Melanie Seiler
3. Laura Palin

1. Spencer Lacy
2. Mike Tavares
3. Luke Hopkins

2014 SUP Cross

1. Haley Mills
2. April Zilg

1. Luke Hopkins
2. Mike Tavares
3. Ben Moore

2013 SUP Cross

1. Adriene Levknecht
2. Courtney Kerin
3. Haley Mills

1. Luke Hopkins
2. Mike Tavares
3. Chris Gragtmans

2012 SUP Cross

1. Luke Hopkins
2. Michael Tavares
3. Benjamin Moore

1. Haley Mills
2. Courtney Kerin
3. April Zilig

2011 SUP Cross

1. Patrick Griffin
2. Ben Moore
3. Jody DesRoches